(Rule 20(3) of the Corporate Joint Committees (General) (No.2) (Wales) Regulations 2021

17 June 2022

Virtual Meeting

Present: Chair: Cllr Dyfrig Siencyn (Cyngor Gwynedd)

Vice-chair: Cllr Mark Pritchard (Wrexham County Borough Council)

Members: Jason McLellan (Denbighshire Council), Llinos Medi Huws (Isle of Anglesey County Council), Charlie McCoubrey (Conwy County Borough Council) and Annwen Hughes (Snowdonia National Park).

Officers: Dafydd Gibbard (Lead Chief Executive), Iwan G Evans (Monitoring Officer), Dafydd L Edwards (Joint Committee Lead Officer), Geraint Owen (Head of Corporate Support Department, Gwynedd Council), Iwan Jones (Snowdonia National Park), Dylan Williams (Isle of Anglesey County Council), Iwan Davies (Conwy County Borough Council), Neal Cockerton (Flintshire Council), Ian Bancroft (Wrexham County Borough Council), Richard Weigh (Wrexham County Borough Council), Graham Boase (Denbighshire Council) and Annes Sion (Democracy Team Leader – Gwynedd Council).

Others invited:

Alwen Williams (NWEAB Portfolio Director).

Apologies:

Ian B. Roberts (Flintshire Council) and Dewi Morgan (Section 151 Officer)

(Rule 20(3) of the Corporate Joint Committees (General) (No.2) (Wales) Regulations 2021

Date of the North Wales Corporate Joint Committee	17 June 2022
Meeting	17 Julie 2022

SUBJECT

Item 1: ELECT CHAIR 2022/23

DECISION

To elect Cllr Dyfrig Siencyn as Chair of the North Wales Corporate Joint Committee.

THE RESULT OF THE VOTE

In favour	5
Against	0
Abstentions	0

DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST AND PROTOCOL MATTERS

(Rule 20(3) of the Corporate Joint Committees (General) (No.2) (Wales) Regulations 2021

Date of the North Wales Corporate Joint Committee	17 June 2022
Meeting	17 June 2022

SUBJECT

Item 2: ELECT VICE CHAIR 2022/23

DECISION

To elect Cllr Mark Pritchard as Vice-chair of the North Wales Corporate Joint Committee.

THE RESULT OF THE VOTE

In favour	5
Against	0
Abstentions	0

DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST AND PROTOCOL MATTERS

(Rule 20(3) of the Corporate Joint Committees (General) (No.2) (Wales) Regulations 2021

Date of the North Wales Corporate Joint Committee	17 June 2022
Meeting	17 June 2022

SUBJECT

Item 7: CONSTITUTIONAL MATTERS

DECISION

- 1. To establish a Strategic Planning Sub-Committee and a Strategic Transport Sub-Committee, and to approve the membership and voting rights as follows
 - i) The Strategic Planning Sub-Committee with 7 voting members, one from each of the constituent authorities (6 Councils and SNPA).
 - ii) The Strategic Transport Sub-Committee with 6 voting members, one from each of the 6 Councils.
 - iii) Membership of the Strategic Planning Sub-Committee to be comprised of the relevant Cabinet member from each constituent Council who holds the portfolio for Planning Policy, and the SNPA representative.
 - iv) That the membership of the Strategic Transport Sub-Committee to be comprised of the relevant Cabinet member from each constituent Council who holds the portfolio for Transport Policy.
- 2. To confirm 22 July as the next CJC meeting date, and to confirm that all CJC meetings shall be held as virtually for the time being.

THE RESULT OF THE VOTE

In favour	5
Against	0
Abstentions	0

DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST AND PROTOCOL MATTERS

(Rule 20(3) of the Corporate Joint Committees (General) (No.2) (Wales) Regulations 2021

Date of the North Wales Corporate Joint Committee	17 June 2022
Meeting	17 Julie 2022

SUBJECT

Item 8: PAY POLICY STATEMENT 2022/23

DECISION

To adopt the North Wales Corporate Joint Committee pay policy statement for 2022/23.

THE RESULT OF THE VOTE

In favour	5
Against	0
Abstentions	0

DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST AND PROTOCOL MATTERS

(Rule 20(3) of the Corporate Joint Committees (General) (No.2) (Wales) Regulations 2021

Date of the North Wales Corporate Joint Committee	17 June 2022
Meeting	17 Julie 2022

SUBJECT

Item 9: ORGANISATIONAL STRUCTURE AND STAFFING

DECISION

To re-appoint Dafydd Gibbard as the CJC's Chief Executive, on an acting basis until the position is reviewed again.

To re-appoint Dewi Morgan as the CJC's Chief Finance Officer and Iwan Evans as the CJC's Monitoring Officer and Proper Officer.

To approve the ongoing arrangements for Gwynedd Council to provide support services for the CJC, at least until the date of transfer of the EAB to the CJC, or when the Partners to the EAB's "GA2" agree to an alternative model.

To adopt the Terms and Conditions of employment of Gwynedd Council, in effect at the date of this report, as its terms and conditions of employment for staff.

THE RESULT OF THE VOTE

In favour	5
Against	0
Abstentions	0

DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST AND PROTOCOL MATTERS

Declarations of personal interest were received from Dafydd Gibbard and Iwan Evans.